Is PPC Suitable for Small Businesses? The answer is a BIG yes. In the right hands, PPC can be a killer method, gaining new customers fast, unlike other marketing channels like SEO.
If you can target the correct keywords, let’s say “best takeaway pizza in Bristol or “affordable plumbing in Leeds”, even a small budget can deliver a worthwhile return on investment (ROI).
Let’s get into the heart of how you can get started and make PPC work for you!
Data from the Boatswain Joinery PPC campaign.
One of the modern marketing moguls, Neil Patel, defines PPC as a cost-effective digital marketing strategy that allows small businesses to place ads on search engines.
The best part? You’re only charged when somebody clicks on your ad, which is perfect as a small business owner.
It’s fast. It’s flexible. It allows location and demographic targeting. To put it bluntly, not investing in PPC ads campaigns means you’re missing out on one of marketing’s favourite ad channels.
Here’s why it’s even more ideal for small businesses.
You set limits daily so you’re always in control. You can even set a maximum cost per click by utilising manual bidding strategies. But this is a complicated setup, and we would always recommend using a PPC agency for this.
You only pay when somebody clicks. Saving cash on deceiving metrics like impressions. If you’ve got a good landing page to go with your ads, you’ll only need a few clicks to generate a conversion.
Monitor every single click. Every conversion. No guessing. Pay per click gives you massive amounts of data, so everything can be monitored and managed with ease.
Many small, local businesses don’t have national reach. Does this matter? No. You can target postcodes and areas to reach relevant, local customers.
While marketing gurus and agencies will tell you to invest in PPC, the proof is also in the statistics. Time and time again, PPC proves successful.
Data from the Boatswain Joinery PPC campaign.
According to Google Economic Impact, for every £1 spent on PPC, you can expect £2 in revenue. You can expect to make double your money when you invest in PPC correctly.
Interestingly, a study by smallbizgenius suggests that you can expect a return on investment (ROI) of up to 200%.
So, allocating some of your marketing budgets to PPC is a smart investment — and one you can expect to be highly effective when executed properly.
Enough of the ROI talk. What are the average conversion rates for PPC? According to Fit Small Business, the conversion rate is 2.35%.
On top of this, PPC visitors are far more likely to purchase compared to organic traffic. Elite IT Team claims it results in 50% more conversions.
So, somebody landing on your page from a paid ad is more likely to purchase your product than an organic visitor from SEO.
POD Shoes, a quality footwear brand, was frustrated. The issue? A Google Shopping campaign that fell flat on its face. But after applying our data-driven PPC strategy, things changed fast!
“We haven’t looked back since. Nothing is too much trouble for them, with sales increasing very quickly from the start.”
Ready to get stuck into the wonderful world of PPC? Follow our mini guide:
Screenshot from the Skilled Summers Landing Page.
As a small business, you want to gain momentum from every penny you invest in your marketing. And why not? We get it.
Once you’re running ads, use these top tips to snowball growth.
Responsive search ads are all the rage in 2025, and rightfully so. Google now lets you test several headlines and pick the best.
This marketing cheat code means you can test what works and get ahead of your competitors.
What do we mean by ad extensions?
Think location, like address and maps. Allow a phone call with one tap. Link to your site, pricing, testimonials, and social media.
This is where the money really is. Rather than “best running shoes”, target “best long-distance running shoes” to drive user intent through the roof!
People who search for such specific keywords know what they want, and they want it now.
You must take advantage of this in 2025.
Remember those annoying negative keywords we mentioned? Stay on top of these. Removing negative keywords can help you avoid paying for wasteful clicks.
Use software or use this simple calculation: revenue ÷ ad spend.
For example, if you’re earning £6,000 per month from a £2,000 ad spend, your return on ad spend (ROAS) is 300%.
Always keep profit in mind. Don’t let vanity metrics distract you.
Pinpoint Foot Measurement, a small online footwear retailer, recognised the potential for paid Google ads, but didn’t know where to start.
After reaching out to us, we carefully explained the process and kickstarted the campaign. After carefully targeting a key demographic, the results were considerable.
Here is what they said:
“We have been using CreateTheWeb to drive our online campaign and engage the public with a revolutionary new method for measuring children’s feet. We realised early on that we simply did not have the necessary expertise to manage online marketing on our own. Luckily, Otis, Luke and the team have been fantastic, guiding us through the world of “impressions” and “click-throughs,” homing in quickly on our key market demographic to deliver growth. An excellent service. I would recommend them!
Similarly, Little Helium Heads, a handmade personalised balloon service in Bristol, saw great results after our tailored PPC campaign:
“Wow, super impressed with the service Otis and Luke have provided my business. They are amazing at what they do, and I would never go elsewhere for my marketing and advertising needs. You are in safe hands with them, and they consistently go above and beyond for you. Thanks again, gentlemen.”
As a results-driven agency, we get a kick out of helping small, local businesses realise they can take advantage of PPC and make a profit, no matter the company size.
Data from the PinPoint PPC campaign.
Do you need fast results? Do you have a small budget? Only offer your products or services locally? Want to scale in 2025?
If you answered yes to most of these questions, then it’s a yes, PPC is right for your small business, and the sooner you get started, the sooner you’ll see results.
PPC might be your main channel for growth this year.
When it comes to PPC campaigns for small businesses across the UK, we’re experts.
With over seven years of deep experience helping small businesses in Bath, Bristol, and Leeds, we understand your local audience to a tee.
CreateTheWeb builds campaigns to fit your budget and selects the best keywords and phrases for your niche and location.
Data from the Gym Flooring PPC campaign.
So, is PPC suitable for small businesses? Yes. We’ve proved it over and over again.
Ready to leave the confusion behind? Don’t suffer in silence. Our strategy suits startups, local businesses, and big brand names.
Get a FREE quote today. Let’s increase your revenue, boost local visibility, and kickstart your small business growth in 2025 with a dynamic PPC campaign.
Want more answers? Below are some of the most common questions we get asked about this topic. If there’s anything else you’d like to know, feel free to get in touch with us.
If we’re talking about search engines, Google is the best platform to use for paid ads. Firstly, it’s the world’s most popular search engine, so you want to focus your resources where your audience is likely searching. However, if you mean paid social media ads, you must know what social media your audience is using beforehand.
Absolutely. It’s the BIGGEST marketing myth that small businesses and startups can’t invest in PPC. Paid ads are your best friend. You don’t need a large budget, and it gives local businesses a chance to appear in local search. No matter your size, PPC is a winning marketing channel.
Yes, technically speaking, you can run your own Google PPC campaign. But before you get started, ask yourself if you’re willing to invest money without understanding how PPC works. Experts can guarantee your PPC budget achieves the highest ROI possible, and at CreateTheWeb, we have over seven years of successful PPC campaign experience.
Yes, definitely. Using a PPC agency ensures that you generate the best possible return on investment from your adverts. While it will save you some money by not using an agency, it will cost you more in the long run.
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